William Elliot Whitmore

William Elliot Whitmore opened tonight for Trampled By Turtles.

I was excited about the headliner, of course, but let it be said that I would see William Elliot Whitmore anywhere, anytime, all other bands aside.  I would also follow him around his Iowa farm holding his lemonade while he bales hay and writes music and swings hammers with those big strong tattooed arms and….

I seem to have lost my train of thought.

It happened yesterday at work, too, when I watched the video for “Don’t Need It,” and I had to get up and walk around the office in order to clear my head.  I think it’s the kickdrum.  Good heavens, the kickdrum. That driving, primal beat.  It goes right through me. It makes me dizzy. It makes me want to throw my clothes onstage, and I am normally a bit more reserved than that. It makes me want to…

I am a fiddle girl, y’all, I really am.  I would snuggle up with a fiddle on cold winter nights, and roast it a chicken for Sunday dinner, and take it home to meet my family, and ride the ferris wheel with it at the State Fair.

That being said, I would totally sleep with a kickdrum.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

