The Times They Are a-Changin’

In a day that needed a bright spot, something wonderful happened.  My household has expanded by two members.  See if you can spot them:

Ok. Sorry.  That bookshelf is a bit busy.  I’ll give you a hint: two vintage beauties sitting on top.

After years of collecting record albums, and hanging them on the wall as art, I finally bought a turntable.  I haven’t had one since, well, time out of mind.  It’s been too long.  I’ve been contemplating the purchase.  And then, on Record Store Day, fittingly, I was at In the Groove Records, talking to the owner about my turntablelessness.  He was very understanding and not at all judgy.  He gave me some pointers.  And then a guy flipping through the record bins chimed in, and gave me some pointers on finding a vintage set.  “You’ll need a vintage receiver, too,” he told me. “Actually, I’m moving soon, and I have a couple of things I’ve been working on.  I’ll get in touch when I’m ready to sell.”

And he did.  And now I am the proud housemate of this:

and this.

The first round of hooking them up last night did not go smoothly.  My shelves are not built for vintage equipment; I need better speakers; and, oh yes. I did not have the foresight to photograph where all of the wires went, before we unhooked them all.  I got things to turn. I got things to light up.  I got one speaker to work with the radio, and then the other, but no sound from the turntable.

Today, all is well.  Turns out, I had everything hooked up correctly, but didn’t have the knobs turned to all the right thingamajigs.  I am still learning.  I got some help from the vintage turntable guy, and I am in business.  I have motion.  I have sound.  I have pretty lights on the receiver.

I figured my first record had better be a good one.  I pulled out Dad’s Dylan album that I came across a couple of months ago, and I cranked it loud.

This one’s for you, Dad.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

