Michael Rank and Stag

I just saw Michael Rank and Stag at Local Band/Local Beer.

The first I’d ever heard of these guys was tonight.  They had me at the first song.  They had me at pedal steel.  They had me at fiddle.  But they kept me there, past midnight.  I have to be at my desk at 8 a.m.  I never make it till the end on a Thursday night.  But tonight it was worth it.

Comparisons in music are kind of, well, rude,  But if I toss out there “Robert Earl Keen meets Old 97’s meets seventies rock meets old school honky-tonk,” that might get you closer to understanding the bold statement I am about to make:

Favorite band at Local Band/Local Beer thus far.

They’re playing at Hopscotch.  See you there.

This entry was posted in Music, Out and About, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

