America the Beautiful

I can’t tell you how badly I needed a change of scenery this week.  It’ll do wonders for your perspective, especially when the scenery is country roads in October.

After last night’s adventure, I came back to my bed for the evening, which I found on Airbnb:

Yes.  I slept in the back of a 1970’s VW bus, in the cutest little neighborhood you ever saw.  I was planning to camp, or get the cheapest motel room I could find during Springsteen week in Charlottesville.  This was far cheaper, warmer, and cozier than that. After the show, I curled up in the bus with my computer and a camping lantern and it was a teeny, tiny taste of what it would be like to have my Airstream writer’s retreat in my Van Down By The River fantasy.  Now I want it even more.  I love that bus.

This morning I drove south and spent the day with family in the Virginia midlands.  There’s nothing in particular to see out there, but it’s all just gorgeous in every direction (except for the Romney signs, sorry Pres.)  My Virginia aunt and uncle said they love me despite the fact that I horrified them by not only going to an Obama rally, but also early-voting for Obama on the first possible day.  They also were greatly amused at my night in the Magic Bus.  “You have a fair amount of sixties in you,” they said, and then hugged me and bought me frozen yogurt with oreos on top, and sent me on my way.

I got home feeling much better than when I’d left.  It’s a big, beautiful world out there.  You don’t have to go very far in order to see a little of it.  Heck, you don’t even have to leave Raleigh to see a little of it.

The last of the Springsteen posting:  when I logged on to my computer today, I was delighted and mortified in equal parts to find out that Springsteen’s tour page had re-posted my blog, twice.  It continues to amaze me that anyone reads these pages at all, let alone Springsteen fans from thirteen different countries.  I know his self-esteem can take it, but please, nobody tell Bruce I was disappointed in the stadium show.  You can just focus on the part where I loved, loved, loved him at the rally, quietly impassioned and articulate, alone with his guitar.

And so, to round out a two-day whirlwind of beautiful things, someone posted this from the rally. Here it is:  Life List Achievement, Thunder Road.  Magic moment.

This entry was posted in Life List, Music, Out and About. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to America the Beautiful

  1. Pingback: Big Dreams | Carolina Gypsy

Leave a Reply

