I’m Not Wearing Any Underwear

Ah. I can see that I have your attention.

Last New Year’s, a bunch of us decided to follow the Latin American tradition of wearing new underwear on New Year’s Eve.  You were supposed to pick a color, and the color you picked was supposed to bring you the thing it represented:  money, luck, true love, passion, etc. etc. etc.

We had a ridiculous amount of fun, and there was optimism and silliness and New Year’s joy.  And then we collectively proceeded to have a year in which we none of us got what we wanted, and most of us got a lot of what we didn’t.  There were some lovely moments this year; mostly, though, I’m not sorry to see 2012 go.

IMG_4428

I’m not actually a believer in “magical thinking,” as in, if I wear pink I will find love, if I wear green I will be rich, and so forth.  But I do believe that if you’re willing to say out loud, or even just to yourself, “I want X, Y, and Z,” then you are more likely to work towards X, Y, and Z.  I was telling the girls I wasn’t even sure what color underwear I should buy for this New Year’s Eve, since I pretty much need something in every color of the rainbow right now.

“You’re DOING that again?” was Julia’s reply.  She has a point.  Insanity, friends, is repeating the same behavior and expecting different results.  I agree that we should call that experiment a wash.  So I didn’t buy any.  I will not, in fact, wear any.

IMG_4426

What if picking a color is limiting? What if I’m thinking too narrowly?  What if I should be less restrained, more open to absolutely any possibility?  Less defined, more go-with-the-flow? Just all-around freer?

Don’t anyone look at me funny at Capital Club 16 tonight.  I have no plans to pull a Brittany Spears.  I’m skipping New Year’s underwear, but I will have on the following instead:

a sequin dress, gold nail polish, shiny earrings, and glittery shoes.  Shimmer and glimmer is non-restrictive, non-magic-wish-committal, non-limiting.

IMG_4420

Shiny things, y’all.  Happy New Year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m Not Wearing Any Underwear

  1. Pingback: Magical Thinking | Carolina Gypsy

Leave a Reply

