They Grind Slow, But They Grind Fine

I’d like to thank the Academy, my producers, my costar…..wait no. That’s something else.

I’d actually like to thank the entire Wake County Judicial System.

This morning I went to court for my expired registration, for which I was ticketed while transporting small car-hating crying puppy to his first vet appointment.  In an admirable show of support and loyalty, he immediately proceeded to eat the ticket.

Image

I can not overstate how many layers of clothing I put on this morning, in order to brave the walk to the courthouse in 19 degree breezy weather.  I parked my car.  I fed the meter and braced myself for the wait.  I made it to Quick Disposition Court, stood in line for twelve seconds to check in, and then waited five minutes to see a DA.  She glanced at my renewed registration and said, “I can dismiss that.  Go have a nice day.”

A get out of jail free card.  They didn’t even charge me court costs, and I made it to work early.  They didn’t know I’ve spent the last 2 1/2 years working on renovations for the Wake County Courthouse, or fifteen months designing waterproofing for that wretched building. They didn’t know about the job hunting or back spasms or my office closing. They just declared me a reasonable citizen worthy of redemption, and sent me on my way with a “thank you.”

I’m celebrating with an almond latte. Y’all stay warm out there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to They Grind Slow, But They Grind Fine

  1. Julia says:

    Woohoo!! So glad to hear this is how the ticket turned out. Clearly, 2013 is doing her damnedest to apologize for 2012’s bad behavior. Can’t wait to see what else she has up her sleeve!

Leave a Reply

