Let’s Blow Out of Town in a Cloud of Dust

I’m headed up to the mountains, y’all.  Well, first I have to help construct a sculpture out of 5,000 cans.  And then mountains.

I’m ready.  Yesterday I turned in a piece at work I’d been fussing over for days, and then last night a bunch of us went out for some free and fabulous music, and laughed till we cried.  Well, just me. I laughed until I cried.  Because those people are really fun, and because Veronica named our band and it’s way better than anything I could have come up with so I had to hug her three times, and because the calendar flipped over into August, and suddenly I no longer feel becalmed and adrift.

It was on our collective 2013 list for someone to invent a signature cocktail for the annual music camping event up at Tracy and Gregg’s farm, Fire on the Mountain.  So I did.  I give you the Sunset Shandy.  Recipe below.Image

Sunset Shandy

  • 1/2 a can of beer (it’s the Summer of Beer in Cans, remember, and here I used Sky Blue golden ale because its can is really pretty and looks outdoorsy)
  • 1/2 a can of sparkling cranberry juice
  • a few drops of grenadine so it looks like that moment up on the ridge just before twilight

and then

  • Garnish with a very small sunset (I used a candy orange slice)
  • Finish with a guitar string, the hell out of which someone has already played
  • Before anyone takes a sip, sing a song about “fire” or “mountains,” bartender’s choice. Then stand around with people you love and breathe easy.

You may make up to six to share, unless you have a guitar with more strings than I do.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s Blow Out of Town in a Cloud of Dust

  1. Pingback: Inching Ever Closer | Carolina Gypsy

  2. Joy Ingallinera says:

    Well, I’m bringing cranberry juice, Budweiser and soda water. Close enough? See ya up on the ridge!

Leave a Reply

